Jim Lafayette Memorial Series of Writers of Science Fiction and Fantasy

James Patrick Lafayette was born November 3, 1976 to Ann Marie (DeMontigny) and Patrick Lafayette.  Jim was joined by his sister Kate in 1980. At age four Jim was diagnosed with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy after showing signs of muscle weakness.

Jim’s father was an avid Science Fiction fan and introduced Jim to Star Wars at an early age.  Jim soon became a collector of Star Wars merchandise; a passion he continued until his death at the age of 26.  Jim attended Norwich Public Schools and Norwich Free Academy (NFA).  During Jim’s elementary years students wrote and illustrated books for the Young Authors program. Jim always penned a science fiction story with an open ending suitable for a sequel.  At NFA Jim enrolled in art classes as drawing fantasy and science fiction figures was another favorite pastime.  While a student at NFA Jim wrote a weekly column for the Norwich Bulletin called The Next Level, a video game review. Jim graduated from NFA in 1995. He continued writing The Next Level into his college years at Connecticut College where he studied art and literature.  Jim graduated in 1999 from Conn College with Honors in English. He presented the first science fiction thesis at Conn, Darwinian Themes in British Science Fiction. Upon graduation Jim wrote an animé review for Wizard Magazine.

Reading and writing science fiction allowed Jim to escape the confines of his wheelchair and travel to fantastic places in his mind.  Upon his death in 2002 Jim’s family chose to establish a memorial fund to share and continue Jim’s love of science fiction and fantasy with generations to come. 

 

2017 Lafayette Writers

The 10th Anniversary of the Jim Lafayette Memorial Series of Writers of Science Fiction and Fantasy, hosted by Otis Library, will welcome Erik Amundsen, C. S. E. Cooney, Carlos Hernandez, and Julia Rios, authors and poets of the fantastic on Monday, June 26, at 6:00 p.m. in the Community Room. This program honors the memory of local science fiction and fantasy fan and writer Jim Lafayette with appearances by authors of the genre. Norwich native Faye Ringel, Ph.D., retired Professor of Humanities at the U.S. Coast Guard Academy, will facilitate the program. The participants will read – and sing- their own works and answer questions about poetry in these genres.

Julia Rios   www.juliarios.com

Erik Amundsenhttp://strangehorizons.com/author/erik-amundsen/

Carlos Hernandezhttp://rosariumpublishing.com/rosarium-authors-carlos-hernandez.html

C.S.E. Cooney   https://csecooney.com/

 

Previous Lafayette Writers

2016 - James Morrow   http://www.jamesmorrow.info/
2015 - Dana Cameron   http://www.danacameron.com/

Dana Cameron's first novel, Site Unseen: An Emma Fielding Mystery is being made in a movie for Hallmark Movies & Mysteries.  It will have its world premier on Sunday, June 4, at 9pm.  Website.

2014 - Kit Reed   http://www.kitreed.net/
2013- C. S. E. Cooney   https://csecooney.com/

Bone Swans: Stories by C.S.E. Cooney, was winner of the 2016 World Fantasy Award for Best Collection .

2012 - Theodora Goss   https://theodoragoss.com/
2011 - Kaaron Warren   https://kaaronwarren.wordpress.com/  
2011 - Madeleine Robins   https://madeleinerobins.com/
2010 - John Crowley   http://crowleycrow.livejournal.com/
2009 - MIchael Bishop  http://www.michaelbishop-writer.com/ 
2009 - Paul Di Filippo  http://paul-di-filippo.com/  
2009 - Greer Gilman   http://www.greergilman.com/
2008 - Don, D'Ammassa     http://www.dondammassa.com/     
2008 - Esther Friesner   https://www.fantasticfiction.com/f/esther-m-friesner/  
2008 - Leigh Grossman   http://swordsmith.com/